Mees and Snyder Repeat at Mid-America’s Night Before the Indy Mile

| 25 August 2012 1:41 pm

Night Before the Indy Mile
Mid-America Speedway at the Marion County Fairgrounds

Story by Kurt Bauer and Jim Terchila
Photos by Kurt Bauer

The 2012 Night Before the Mile, sponsored by Harley-Davidson of Bloomington, Indiana, was once again a huge success. With 47 riders in the 450cc Money class chasing after a purse of more than $4,000, many of the best riders in the country showed up hoping to earn a share of that purse.

Jared Mees (9), last year’s winner of the main event, came back this year to defend his title…

Last year, Jared Mees won after starting from the third row. This year, Jared won his heat and led every lap of the 20-lap main event. Rounding out the top five were Henry Wiles, J.D. Beach, Sammy Halbert and Rob Pearson. (Incidentally, Halbert, Mees, Wiles and Pearson all finished in the top seven at the Indy Mile on Saturday night.)

Henry Wiles (17), J.D. Beach (95) and Sammy Halbert (7) battle in the main event at the Night Before the Indy Mile event at Mid-America Speedway.

Jared Mees took the checkers in the main event again this year and was crowned champion again!

A total of 47 riders signed up for this year’s Night Before event, including flat-track legend Chris Carr. Unfortunately, Carr barely missed the main event, but he later commented that he had a great time and will be back.

Chris Carr (4) leads the heat race, ahead of Rob Pearson (27), Henry Wiles (17) and the rest of the pack.

The Bob Starke Indian Arrow Challenge also saw a repeat winner, with Kevin Snyder topping the event for the second year in a row. He was followed by Jason Griffin and Andy McRoberts.

Mike O’Neil, proud owner of 1949 Indians.

Jason Griffin (7) leads Andy McRoberts (3) in the Indian Arrows Challenge.

The winner of the Indian Arrow Challenge was Kevin Snyder (1).

Bloomington’s Harley-Davidson-sponsored speedway rider B.J. Fesselmeyer won the Speedway main event.

When the tapes went up for the first heat race for the Speedway bikes, John Massey launched his bike into a big flip. Then Dan Frasson got all wadded up in turn three before Fesselmeyer cruised to the win. It looked like Fesselmeyer had possibly blown an engine in his next heat race, but that was not the case, and he does work on motorcycles for a living, so the repair job was just like another day at the office.

B.J. Fesselmeyer topped the Speedway main event.

Dan “The Minnesota Maniac” Frasson got up close and personal with the turn-three dirt in the Speedway contest.

B.J. was able to get the holeshot in the main, and he never looked back, finishing ahead of Ohio’s Chris Thomas. Finishing out the podium for the Speedway bikes was Ohio State Long Track Champion Dan Weicht. Speedway bikes have been racing at Indy since 2000, and the venue has seen many different riders come and go, but Dan has been competing every year, usually racing with his brother Dave, who has not raced the last few years.

Dan Weicht (30) took the third step on the Speedway podium.

A big thanks goes out to the promoters, Marion County Fairgrounds, and the workers for keeping Speedway bikes and some great flat-track racing at Indy.

Mid-America Speedway at the Marion County Fairgrounds
Indianapolis, Indiana
Results: August 17, 2012

SPEEDWAY BIKES: 1. B.J. Fesselmeyer; 2. Chris Thomas; 3. Daniel Weicht; 4. John Massey; 5. Tyler Porter; 6. Heath Heston.

0-250 2-STROKE/4-STROKE (12+): 1. Kevin Stallings Jr.; 2. Bri Hazen; 3. Cameron Long; 4. Steven Selby; 5. Jacob Gutterridge.

80-200 2-STROKE/4-STROKE (9-15): 1. Jeremiah Duffy; 2. Casey Sciscoe; 3. Cody Chisham; 4. Dallas Daniels; 5. Trevor Brunner.

450: 1. Jared Mees; 2. Henry Wiles; 3. J.D. Beach; 4. Sammy Halbert; 5. Rob Pearson.

VET (30+): 1. Brian Vincent; 2. Ben Knight; 3. Kevin Snyder; 4. Joel Brown; 5. Andy Heise.

SUPER SR (50+): 1. Andrew Miller; 2. Paul Meyers; 3. Bill Cook; 4. Tony Subler; 5. John Gilligan.

VINTAGE LIGHT 100-350 (0-1983): 1. Matt Stearns; 2. Ron Lewis; 3. Rob Criswell; 4. John Frazier; 5. Bronson Granger.

INDIAN ARROW: 1. Kevin Snyder; 2. Jason Griffin; 3. Andy McRoberts; 4. Willard Kelly; 5. Bronson Granger; 6. Wayne McJunkin; 7. Fuzzy Hutto.

QUAD OPEN 249+: 1. Mitch Stine; 2. Kevin Crawford; 3. Mark Friday; 4. Mikeal Glidden.

Print Friendly

Category: ATV, Flat Track, National, Regional, Speedway, Vintage, Vintage Flat Track, Vintage Speedway

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.