Barber Blazes to Little Burr Win

| 14 September 2012 9:47 am

ACES Appalachian Championship Enduro Series
Round 7: Enduro Riders Association’s Little Burr Enduro

Story by Steve Wheeler and Heather Wilson
Photos by Phil Bartow and Steve Wheeler
McARTHUR, OH, AUG. 26, 2012

Johnny Barber showcased his Husaberg at the ACES banquet last January, and it seems he intends to bring it back to next year’s banquet sporting a number-one plate. As one of the driest summers on record had riders struggling with visibility issues, when the dust settled, it was Barber who was alone at the top.

Johnny Barber (130) took his second overall victory of the ACES season at round seven, the Enduro Riders Association’s Little Burr Enduro. Photo by Phil Bartow

Barber, a Pennsylvania native, is racing the ACES series for the first season. In the past, he has competed in the National Enduro Series and GNCCs. After a long night of driving on Saturday, he didn’t get to race location until 1:30 a.m. That didn’t seem to faze him.

KTM riders Trevor Kline and Cary Eberts, along with Gas Gas jockey Robbie Jenks, matched Barber’s score through five checks, with Barber earning his eventual one-point margin of victory by zeroing check six. Husaberg rider Nick Fahringer returned to his Ohio roots and was the only other rider to match Barber’s score at that check, but Nick’s day had already been ruined when he missed a turn due to the dust. As a result, Fahringer inadvertently picked up old arrows in the section, dropping eight points at check four while his competitors carded zeroes.

Barber ended the day at nine off, claiming his second victory this season. He was followed by Kline, KTM rider Zach Klamfoth, Jenks, and KTM-mounted Marty Kehlmeier, who rounded out the top five.

Although he prefers mud over dust, Barber said that, knowing the conditions before the race, he was just hoping for a top-three finish. This was his second overall win of the season. He thanked Rich Smith from Smith’s Powersports, Mac, Husaberg USA, ODI,, and EBC Brakes.

In other A-class action, Michael Jolly, rejuvenated with his move to the Open class and aboard a new Husaberg, has reeled off five straight wins to take a three-point class lead.

Marty Kehlmeier (327/16) scored both the Vet A-class victory and the Overall A win. Photo by Phil Bartow

Overall A winner Kehlmeier edged KTM rider Mark McGrath for both the Overall A and Vet A-class wins. The two veteran riders find themselves battling at every race for both class and Overall A honors. With only two rounds to go, it may be a case of “he who laughs last.”

Todd Decker claimed his first Overall B victory, besting his fellow KTM pilot Vinnie Petrella by 57 seconds on the emergency checks. Petrella and Decker were even until check 10, where Vinnie moved ahead by one. That lead didn’t last long, though, as Decker just beat the flip at check 12, turning a 2:59 to Petrella’s 3:35 to gain back his point and take the lead on the tie breakers.

Todd Decker (335) garnered his first Overall B victory at the Little Burr. Photo by Steve Wheeler

For many riders, heading to the next round in Athens, Ohio, is simply another opportunity to zero in on that class win or enjoy some good trail as the season draws to an end. For three ACES competitors, the focus may be a little more distant, as they are setting their sights on ISDE gold in Germany. Barber has been selected to be part of the Wellard Team (along with Jordan Brandt and Fred Hoess). Australian-based Wellard is a world leader in the production and distribution of livestock and grain, and has chosen to support the three Americans in an effort to win the club title. ACES competitors Jolly and Klamfoth will also benefit from Wellard’s support, as they will provide support to all Team USA riders headed to Germany. The ACES organization wishes Barber, Klamfoth and Jolly well in Germany and would like to thank Wellard for its support.

The Appalachian Championship Enduro Series (ACES) is a traditional time-keeping enduro series. Its 2012 season is slated to continue on September 9 in Athens, Ohio, at the Athens Motorcycle Club’s Milk Run Enduro.

ACES thanks the following sponsors for contributing to the growth of this series and supporting its riders: Fly, Kenda, KTM, MSR, Husqvarna, Enduro Engineering, T&E News, Osburn Signs, Point View Cycles, Smith’s Power Sports, Sport Cycles, Clinton County Motorsports, Western Power Sports, Caton’s Cycle Center, Wheelsports, JM Cycles and Ohio Motorcycle.

Enduro Riders Association’s Little Burr Enduro
McArthur, Ohio
Results: August 26, 2012 (Round 7)

AA: 1. Johnny Barber (Hbg); 2. Trevor Kline (KTM); 3. Zach Klamfoth (KTM); 4. Robbie Jenks (GG).

200 A: 1. Shane Sims (KTM); 2. Cody Meeks (KTM).

250 A: 1. Tyler Chadwell (KTM); 2. Nathan Bidwell (KTM); 3. Colin Klier (KTM); 4. Matt Hatten (Yam).

OPEN A: 1. Michael Jolly (Hbg); 2. Brian Rickard (KTM); 3. Joe Uhrig (KTM); 4. John Grimm (Hon).

VET A: 1. Marty Kehlmeier (KTM); 2. Mark McGrath (KTM); 3. Jeremy Pelaston (GG); 4. Derek Scheffel (KTM).

SR A: 1. Todd Ghearing (KTM); 2. Wayne Perdue (KTM); 3. Jeff Johnson (Hsq); 4. Dan Wolfe (Kaw).

SUPER SR A: 1. Scott Klamfoth (KTM); 2. Karl Fahringer (KTM); 3. Norm Into (Hon); 4. Dan Ford (Yam).

200 B: 1. Ryan Slopko (KTM); 2. Tristian Stumbo (KTM); 3. Brad Graves (KTM); 4. Nick Fisher (KTM).

250 B: 1. Vinnie Petrella (KTM); 2. Zac Thomas (GG); 3. Austin Spencer (KTM); 4. Garrett Wilson (KTM).

OPEN B: 1. Todd Decker (KTM); 2. Jordan Collins (Yam); 3. Aaron Cooney (KTM); 4. Adam Clark (KTM).

VET B: 1. John Bittener (Hbg); 2. Trent Gardner (KTM); 3. Christopher Knight (GG); 4. Trent Thompson (KTM).

SR B: 1. Chris Ray (KTM); 2. Edward Snyder (KTM); 3. Kenny Hoyle (KTM); 4. Chuck Freeze (KTM).

SUPER SR B: 1. Mark Thomas (KTM); 2. Stephen Matheny (Hbg).

MASTERS B: 1. Thomas Kelly; 2. Chip Smith (KTM); 3. Larry Watkins (KTM); 4. Larry Rice.

OPEN C: 1. Jeff Bowling (KTM); 2. Michael Nutter (KTM); 3. Scott Clayton (Hsq); 4. Shad Wonders (KTM).

SCHOOLBOY C: 1. Cody Hudnall (KTM); 2. Kelby Kisor (KTM).

Print Friendly

Category: Enduro, Regional

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.