Deep Snow Challenges Racers at Round 3 of BTSC Winter Series

| 15 January 2013 3:14 pm

Broome-Tioga Winter Mud and Snow Scrambles Series
Round 3: Broome-Tioga Sports Center

Story by Jim Sanderson
Photos by

Hurd Motorsports, promoters of the world-class Broome-Tioga Sports Center facility, hosted the third round of their new Winter Mud and Snow Scrambles Series on Saturday, January 5. This year’s series was expanded and will consist of nine rounds running from November through April, utilizing the multiple motocross tracks, grass-track and single-track trails of this massive facility. The series employs transponder scoring utilizing the Mototally Event Scoring System.

The third round dawned under overcast skies, with temperatures in the low 30s and lots of snow. A recent storm had dumped almost a foot of snow over the region and blanketed the racecourse, making track conditions slick and icy.

Jonathan Ackley (230) and Nick Ferguson (1057) lead the start of the Super Open scrambles at round three of Broome-Tioga Sports Center’s Winter Mud and Snow Scrambles Series.

When the green flag dropped for the start of the Super Open-division scramble, Jonathan Ackley and Nick Ferguson led the pack out of the first turn. Ackley continued to lead at the end of the opening lap and was followed by Spencer Hoyt, Ferguson, Marcus Scuttcornell and Louis Wach.

Ackley started the second lap with a five second-lead over Hoyt, in second. Ferguson, in third, trailed Hoyt by 16 seconds. Scuttcornell held fourth and was only three seconds behind Ferguson, and Wach rounded out the top five and trailed Scuttcornell by almost two minutes.

Ackley led for the next three laps, until Hoyt closed the gap and made the pass for the lead on the white-flag lap. Hoyt took the checkers and the win with a seven-second lead. Ackley, Ferguson, Scuttcornell and Michael Vandelinder completed the top five.

Tim Meyers, Jeff Oakley, Steve Deemie, John Messina and Jim Seamon led the start of the Over 50-division scramble. Meyers continued to lead after a quarter of a lap and then began to pull away. Meyers started the second lap with an eight-second advantage and would remain out front for the rest of the race and take the win with a 20-second lead. Oakley, Seamon, Deemie and Messina rounded out the top five.

Tim Meyers (859) leads the pack out of the first turn in the Over 50-division scrambles at Broome-Tioga on January 5.

Brofcak Christopher, Billy Ray and Marty Christoferson Jr. led the start of the Quad Expert-division scramble. Christopher continued to hold down the point position after a quarter of a lap but was being challenged for the lead by Christoferson, in second. Shane Smith, Steve Stracka and Bart Ferrira rounded out the top five.

Christoferson passed Christopher in the back-woods section to take the lead and began pulling away. Christoferson remained out front for the next five laps and took the checkered flag for the win with a one-minute-and-22-second lead. Stracka, Smith, Christopher and Bart Ferrira completed the top five.

Brofcak Christopher (80), Billy Ray (258) and Marty Christoferson Jr. (18, left) lead the start of the Quad Expert scrambles.

Broome-Tioga Sports Center
Binghamton, New York
Results: January 5, 2013 (Round 3 of 9)

Bike Divisions

MINI 50-65: 1. Colby Davis; 2. Ian Potter; 3. Karmen Lehman; 4. Nalen Robbins; 5. Bobby Shultz.

MINI 65-85: 1. Brandon Karp; 2. Hunter Bomersheim; 3. Ian Potter; 4. Tyler Kundrata; 5. Colby Davis.

NOV: 1. Chris Leschak; 2. Pasco Tomaino; 3. Billy Jenkins; 4. Trey Twigg.

101-200 AM: 1. Jessi Wolcott; 2. Marcus Scuttcornell; 3. Michael Vandelinder.

201-OPEN AM: 1. Cody Zopp; 2. Louis Wach; 3. Zach Cleland; 4. Dan Deemie.

SUPER OPEN: 1. Spencer Hoyt; 2. Jonathan Ackley; 3. Nick Ferguson; 4. Marcus Scuttcornell; 5. Michael Vandelinder.

EX: 1. Spencer Hoyt; 2. Jonathan Ackley; 3. Joseph Potter; 4. Cole Wilson; 5. Charlie Thayer.

WOMEN: 1. Kayla Boorom.

30+ NOV/AM: 1. Eric Barrett; 2. Dave Karp; 3. Kenny Monico.

40+ NOV/AM: 1. Rick Penny; 2. Mark Kuehn.

40+ EX: 1. Mike Ferguson.

50+: 1. Tim Meyers; 2. Jeff Oakley; 3. Jim Seamon; 4. Steve Deemie; 5. John Messina.

NON-STUDDED: 1. Kevin Kilmer.

Quad Divisions

QUAD MINI 90: 1. Mikey Nickels; 2. Megan Godfrey; 3. Clayton Chandler; 4. Connor Gleason.

QUAD NOV: 1. Ryan Tingley; 2. Ryan Vergason; 3. Mike Parkhurst; 4. Cory Vandelinder; 5. Dylan Clark.

QUAD AM: 1. Dylan Clark.

QUAD EX: 1. Marty Christoferson Jr.; 2. Steven Stracka; 3. Shane Smith; 4. Brofcak Christopher; 5. Bart Ferria.

QUAD WOMEN: 1. Kara Frederick; 2. Brittany Vergason; 3. Megan Godfrey; 4. Sarah Parkhurst.

QUAD SCHOOLBOY: 1. Ryan Strope; 2. Christian Cornwell; 3. Patrick Clark.

QUAD 30+ NOV/AM: 1. Lance Brunick; 2. Mike Stevens; 3. Bob Friedlander; 4. Nick Mase; 5. Frank White.

QUAD 30+ EX: 1. Steven Stracka.

QUAD NON-STUDDED: 1. Andy Tavelli; 2. Daniel Smith.

Print Friendly

Category: ATV, Hare Scrambles, Ice Racing, Regional

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.