Mataya, Crouch Stand Tall as World Championship ICE Racing Returns to Everett

| 21 January 2013 12:38 pm

World Championship ICE Racing Series
Round 2: Comcast Arena

Story by Woody Doogan
File photo by Mirage Photography
EVERETT, WA, DEC. 15, 2012

The ICE/ International Championship Events organization of racers and officials was very happy to return to Everett’s Comcast Arena after a three-year absence. ICE first brought ice racing to Everett for several years when the facility originally opened its doors. A nice crowd turned out in spite of the horrible shooting event that had taken place earlier in the week, and the pre-Christmas economic considerations that so many families face.

The second leg of this weekend’s doubleheader was a good one. Plenty of action got off to a fast start with the Manufacturers World Cup Bikes. Each heat race was a battle royale, as riders fought for positions in the night’s finals. The round-one heat victories were scored by “Freight Train” Tom McGrane from Gap, Pennsylvania; Jake “The Snake” Mataya from Blaine, Minnesota; and “Flyin’ Brian” McKenna from Boston, Massachusetts. The round–two winners were Jay Maloney from Oakland, New Jersey; “Captain Kirk” Cheney from Hastings, Michigan; and Mataya.

The ICE last-chance qualifiers are all-or-nothing affairs, meaning you either finish fourth or better or you head to the showers and the beer garden. (Hmmm… that actually could be a win/win situation.) This six-lapper was a memorable one for Kent, Washington’s Jacob Lehmann, who scored the win, placing him in the preferred number-five starting slot for the main event. He was followed by “Smokin’ Joe” Kopp from Mica, Washington; Maloney; and “Sideways Sammy” Wiggins, also from Gap, Pennsylvania. Heading off for a cold one were Dan White from Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada; hometown hero Doni Wanat from Everett, Washington; and Eric Rickman from Tacoma, Washington.

The riders in the eight-lap Manufacturers World Cup main left the starting line like a herd of cheetahs on attack mode. Jake “The Snake” came out of turns one and two in the lead. His venom was just too much for the big cats to handle on this night, as Mataya convincingly won his second main event of the season. Finishing in order behind Jake were McGrane, Cheney, McKenna, Lehmann, Kopp, Wiggins and Maloney.

Dusty Crouch (shown here at 2012’s second round, at Virginia’s Hampton Coliseum) came out on top a some fierce battles in the Outlaw Quads portion of the evening in Everett, Washington.

The Outlaw Quads were also special on this night, featuring a solid group of local racers hoping to knock off the touring ICE Pros. A blistering pace was set by all the round-one heat-race winners: local boy Brett McGhie; local girl Lynzee Felder; Dusty “Time Bomb” Crouch from Topeka, Kansas; Reed Petchnick, another local boy; and Mandy “Wild Child” Brodil from Elizabethtown, North Carolina. Round two was just as intense, with victories earned by Crouch; Petchnick; Kevin “Cool Hand” Smith from Overbrook, Kansas; Chuck “The Ice Man” Calvert from Madison, Wisconsin; and Shane “Quad Cities” Quam from Moline, Illinois.

As always, the Quad LCQ was off the charts! When the snow had settled, McGhie was the clear winner, followed by transferees Quam, Smith, and local boy Martin Koetje; then came “Sideways Sammy” Wiggins; Anthony Demeo from Woodland Park, New Jersey; local boy Ron Heath; and Felder.

The Quad main event was all Crouch’s, who went wire to wire. This was his first-ever major ICE win. He had knocked on the door many times, but he never pulled it off until this night. Crouch was followed across the line by Calvert, Brodil, Quam, Smith, Koetje, Petchnick and McGhie.

It was great to see our loyal fans and friends in Everett again. Your friendship and continued support is greatly appreciated. Thank you all!

Comcast Arena
Everett, Washington
Results: December 15, 2012 (Round 2)

Manufacturers World Cup Bikes

HEAT 1: 1. Tom McGrane; 2. Dan White; 3. Doni Wanat; 4. Eric Rickman.

HEAT 2: 1. Jake Mataya; 2. Kirk Cheney; 3. Joe Kopp; 4. Sammy Wiggins.

HEAT 3: 1. Bryan McKenna; 2. Jacob Lehmann; 3. Jay Maloney.

HEAT 4: 1. Jay Maloney; 2. Tom McGrane; 3. Sammy Wiggins; 4. Doni Wanat.

HEAT 5: 1. Kirk Cheney; 2. Jacob Lehmann; 3. Bryan McKenna; 4. Dan White.

HEAT 6: 1. Jake Mataya; 2. Joe Kopp; 3. Eric Rickman.

LCQ: 1. Jacob Lehmann; 2. Joe Kopp; 3. Jay Maloney; 4. Sammy Wiggins; 5. Dan White; 6. Doni Wanat; 7. Eric Rickman.

MAIN: 1. Jake Mataya; 2. Tom McGrane; 3. Kirk Cheney; 4. Bryan McKenna; 5. Jacob Lehmann; 6. Joe Kopp; 7. Sammy Wiggins; 8. Jay Maloney.

Unlimited Outlaw Quads

HEAT 1: 1. Brett McGhie; 2. Martin Koetje; 3. BreeAnna Carson; 4. Ken Remer.

HEAT 2: 1. Lynzee Felder; 2. Sammy Wiggins; 3. Brady Osborn; 4. Mike Carson.

HEAT 3: 1. Dusty Crouch; 2. Anthony Demeo; 3. Shane Quam; 4. Devin Madonia.

HEAT 4: 1. Reed Petchnick; 2. Ron Heath; 3. Kevin Smith.

HEAT 5: 1. Mandy Brodil; 2. Chuck Calvert; 3. Ian Wilson.

HEAT 6: 1. Dusty Crouch; 2. Mandy Brodil; 3. Sammy Wiggins; 4. Lynzee Felder.

HEAT 7: 1. Reed Petchnick; 2. Ron Heath; 3. Ian Wilson; 4. Anthony Demeo.

HEAT 8: 1. Kevin Smith; 2. Ken Remer; 3. Brady Osborn.

HEAT 9: 1. Chuck Calvert; 2. Devin Madonia; 3. Brett McGhie.

HEAT 10: 1. Shane Quam; 2. Martin Koetje; 3. Mike Carson.

LCQ: 1. Brett McGhie; 2. Shane Quam; 3. Kevin Smith; 4. Martin Koetje; 5. Sammy Wiggins; 6. Anthony Demeo; 7. Ron Heath; 8. Lynzee Felder.

MAIN: 1. Dusty Crouch; 2. Chuck Calvert; 3. Mandy Brodil; 4. Shane Quam; 5. Kevin Smith; 6. Martin Koetje; 7. Reed Petchnick; 8. Brett McGhie.

Print Friendly

Category: ATV, Ice Racing, National

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.