Cheney, Smith Top Third ICE Round, while Mataya Snakes the Money

| 22 January 2013 5:31 pm

World Championship ICE Racing Series
Round 3: Maverik Center

Story by Woody Doogan

To say the New Year started off with a bang for ICE/ International Championship Events’ World Championship ICE Racing Series would be a giant understatement. This year started off with a nuclear explosion! On Friday night, January 4, nearly 4,000 fans attended round three of the 37th annual World Championship ICE Racing Series at the beautiful Maverik Center in West Valley City, Utah, a community near Salt Lake City.

Jake Mataya (29) topped the lucrative Dash For Cash at the third round of the World Championship ICE Racing Series. Photo by ICE

After the heat races were run in the Manufacturers World Cup Motorcycle Division, ICE officials decided to run a Dash For Cash in lieu of the normal last-chance qualifier. This would be a winner-take-all shootout race for a rather large stack of paper money. Seeing this pile of moola fired up the racers way beyond the norm. When the green flag flew, the racers charged to the first turn like a pack of hungry wolves chasing Aunt Belle’s poodle to the doghouse! There’s no other way to describe it: This race was a real dogfight! There was passing on every lap – handlebar-banging, wheel-to-wheel racing! By the last lap, Jake “The Snake” Mataya’s from Blaine, Minnesota, had once again won out over the wolf pack. There’s a rumor floating around that Mataya drove up to a nearby IRS headquarters in Ogden, Utah, to pay the taxes on his haul. But they were closed on Saturday.

When the Bike main event rolled around, the wolves were really hungry and thinking it was payback time. Since the ICE Fair Starting Gate had been destroyed earlier, the main was flag-started. The start was clean, with Boston’s “Flyin’ Brian” McKenna taking the early lead, followed by “Captain Kirk” Cheney from Hastings, Michigan, and “Freight Train” Tom McGrane from Gap, Pennsylvania. McKenna was gone and not looking back. If he had taken a peek behind him, he would have seen his best friend Cheney gaining about half a bikelength every lap.

By the seventh lap, Cheney was there! None of the top three front-runners had ever won an ICE major championship event, despite many years of trying. Everyone in the building was on their feet for the last lap, knowing full well it was going to be wild! Would Cheney hold back and give his buddy his first-ever win, or would he dig deep and go for the win himself? Or would the two leaders crash out in the heat of battle, giving McGrane his first Big Stud Trophy?

On that last lap, Cheney was banging on McKenna’s rear wheel through turns one and two. McKenna still had the advantage going down the back straight – until the end of it. The Captain did indeed dig deep, cowboyed up and dive-bombed under McKenna, banging both wheels through turns three and four. The two combatants drag-raced side by side to the checkered flag. The noise of the crowd was deafening as they crossed the line! It was Cheney by less than a wheel! The place went crazy!

After the awards presentations, as Kirk was proudly walking through the pits, he was overheard saying; “Well, I guess I’ll be sleeping with one eye open tonight.” You see, he and McKenna are hotel roommates while on the road. Great sportsmen, great racers, great guys!

The Outlaw Quad racing was just as spectacular on this night. Perhaps it was a full moon…?

The first heat race out of the box is one that no one will ever forget. Five-time and defending World Champion Mandy “Wild Child” Brodil from Elizabethtown, North Carolina, launched off the line and into the lead. Just behind her was Kevin “Cool Hand” Smith from Overbrook, Kansas, and he was followed closely by Mataya, on the Harley “Thunder Quad,” and Anthony Demeo from Oakland Park, New Jersey. Brodil is very quick around the bottom, so Smith decided to challenge her around the outside on the third lap. The strategy was working for the hard-charging Smith, and by the fourth and final lap the two front-runners were side by side. Coming out of turn four, Smith had a slight advantage as they both raced to the finish line. Then, suddenly, Mandy got crossed up, shooting her straight into the infield and hitting the ICE Fair Staring Gate truss upright at full speed. The swivel point on the top of the outside upright worked, allowing the structure to move some, but it just wasn’t designed to take a full-speed hit. The inside upright was torn off, allowing the long beam that crosses the track to come crashing down in the middle of the course. Thankfully, all the riders made it through unscathed. By the time Mandy finally got her machine stopped, she was well into turn one; her only injury was to her pride. However, the ICE Fair Start Gate was dead! Smith won the heat.

The other round-one heat winners were Dusty “Time Bomb” Crouch from Topeka, Kansas, and Shane “Quad Cities” Quam from Moline, Illinois.

The round-two heat winners were Smith; Demeo; and Chuck “The Ice Man” Calvert from Madison, Wisconsin.

When the Quad LCQ rolled around, Brodil had it all back together, and she led this one from wire to wire, followed to the finish line by a hard-charging Ian Wilson from Arlington, Washington; Crouch; and Devin Madonia from Granite Falls, Washington. The top four transferred on to the main. Then came Calvert; Nick Porter of Snohomish, Washington; and Demeo.

The main event was exciting, with lots of passing throughout the pack, but “Cool Hand” Smith held on to a strong lead for all of the six laps. He was followed by Quam; Calvert; Crouch; Ken “Stuntman” Remer from Burlington, Wisconsin; Brodil; and Madonia. This was Kevin Smith’s first major ICE event victory.

Maverik Center
West Valley City, Utah
Results: January 4, 2013 (Round 3)

Manufacturers World Cup Bikes

HEAT 1: 1. Bryan McKenna; 2. Jake Mataya; 3. Kenny Malaguarnero; 4. Jay Maloney.

HEAT 2: 1. Kirk Cheney; 2. Tom McGrane; 3. Kenny Malaguarnero; 4. Dan White.

HEAT 3: 1. Bryan McKenna; 2. Kirk Cheney; 3. Tom McGrane ; 4. Kenny Malaguarnero.

HEAT 4: 1. Jake Mataya; 2. Kirk Cheney; 3. Jay Maloney; 4. Dan White.

DFC: 1. Jake Mataya; 2. Bryan McKenna; 3. Tom McGrane; 4. Kirk Cheney; 5. Jay Maloney; 6. Kenny Malaguarnero; 7. Dan White.

MAIN: 1. Kirk Cheney; 2. Bryan McKenna; 3. Tom McGrane; 4. Jake Mataya; 5. Jay Maloney; 6. Dan White; 7. Kenny Malaguarnero

Unlimited Outlaw Quads

HEAT 1: 1. Kevin Smith; ; 2. Mandy Brodil; ; 3. Jake Mataya; 4. Anthony Demeo.

HEAT 2: 1. Dusty Crouch; 2. Ken Remer; 3. Ian Wilson; 4. Devin Madonia.

HEAT 3: 1. Shane Quam; 2. Chuck Calvert; 3. Nick Porter.

HEAT 4: 1. Kevin Smith; 2. Ken Remer; 3. Jake Mataya; 4. Nick Porter.

HEAT 5: 1. Anthony Demeo; 2. Mandy Brodil; 3. Dusty Crouch; 4. Devin Madonia.

HEAT 6: 1. Chuck Calvert; 2. Shane Quam; 3. Ian Wilson.

LCQ: 1. Mandy Brodil; 2. Ian Wilson; 3. Dusty Crouch; 4. Devin Madonia; 5. Jake Mataya; 6. Nick Porter; 7. Anthony Demeo.

MAIN: 1. Kevin Smith; 2. Shane Quam; 3. Chuck Calvert; 4. Dusty Crouch; 5. Ken Remer; 6. Ian Wilson; 7. Mandy Brodil; 8. Devin Madonia.

Print Friendly

Category: ATV, Ice Racing, National

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.