Reed Wins 40th Anniversary SX, Seely Seals the Deal in 250SX Class

| 19 January 2014 10:43 am

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series
Round 3: Angel Stadium

Courtesy of Feld Motor Sports
Photos by Chris Weedon
ANAHEIM, CA, JAN. 18, 2014

Saturday night’s race was the 40th Anniversary Celebration Race of Monster Energy Supercross. In front of 40,682 fans inside Anaheim, California’s Angel Stadium, Discount Tire Racing/ TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed became the third different rider in as many races to win a Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race this season. After finishing second at the first two races of the Western Regional 250SX-class Championship, Troy Lee Designs/ Lucas Oil/ Honda’s Cole Seely won his first main event of the season.

The former Supercross Champions at the 40th Anniversary Celebration Race.

The former Supercross Champions at the 40th Anniversary Celebration Race.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey set the early pace by winning the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award to start the 450SX-class main event. Team Mafia Moto Crew Kawasaki’s Nick Wey trailed Dungey through turn one in second place. On the opening lap, three-time and defending Monster Energy Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto put his Monster Energy Kawasaki into third place, while Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen pulled onto Villopoto’s back wheel, in fourth. Roczen then passed Villopoto to take over third place.

While leading on lap six, Dungey crashed and dropped to fifth place, giving the lead to Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart, who had moved forward. Villopoto bounced back to pass Roczen for the number-two position and set his sights on Stewart.

On lap 14, Villopoto attempted to pass Stewart and crashed, losing several positions.

The crash by Villopoto allowed Roczen to move into second place and Reed to move into third place. The next lap, Reed passed Roczen for second, and two laps later he passed Stewart for the lead and the eventual win. Stewart finished second and Roczen finished third.

Chad Reed (22) raced to his first win of the season at round three.

Chad Reed (22) raced to his first win of the season at round three.

“I had 41 of these [wins] before tonight, and they came a hell of a lot easier than this one,” said Reed. “I am so proud and could not have done this without the hard work from my Discount Tire team. We all worked so hard in the off season, and it paid off in a big way tonight. I am so pumped!”

“The track was tight tonight,” said Stewart. “We had two veterans finish one and two tonight, so that was great. Overall, I am proud of my race tonight.”

This was Reed’s first win since January 21, 2012, in Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium, and the 42nd of his career. It was also his first win in Anaheim since February 2, 2008, when he won all three races at the venue.

Roczen reclaimed the points lead, with Villopoto trailing by a point. Reed moved into third place.

THHR Story Ad 590 0001

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Cooper Webb jumped out to the early lead with the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award in the Western Regional 250SX-class main event, with Seely and Monster Energy/ Pro Circuit/ Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson following in second and third, respectively. Seely sneaked around Webb shortly after turn one.

On lap three, Wilson crashed; he re-entered the race in 15th place. Wilson’s crash allowed Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson to move into third place.

Anderson passed Webb on lap eight to secure second place, 5.7 seconds behind Seely.

Seely held on for the win, followed by Anderson and Webb. This was the first career podium finish for Webb, who is a rookie this year.

Cole Seely (21) blasted to his first win of 2014 in the 250SX class.

Cole Seely (21) blasted to his first win of 2014 in the 250SX class.

“It was an awesome night for our team,” said Seely. “We have done so much testing before and during the season and spent countless hours at the track, so it is nice to have the hard work pay off. I had some breathing room on the last lap, which was nice. We are going to keep the momentum going headed into next week.”

The win was Seely’s fourth of his career, and he trails Anderson in the season standings by three points.

Monster Energy Supercross now heads to Oakland’s O.Co Coliseum next Saturday, January 25, for the fourth race of the 2014 season.

Angel Stadium
Anaheim, California
Results: January 18, 2014 (Round 3)

KTM JR SX CHALLENGE: 1. Reed Vogan (KTM); 2. Justice Rutledge (KTM); 3. Ricky Negrate (KTM); 4. Dylann Dranke (KTM); 5. Dylan Howard (KTM); 6. Mikayla Nielsen (KTM); 7. Jordan Dowell (KTM); 8. Aiden Otten (KTM); 9. Raul Gutierrez (KTM); 10. Maddix Laughton (KTM); 11. Landon Glodowski (KTM); 12. Niko Munoz (KTM); 13. Mackenzie Caverill (KTM); 14. Braxton Horta (KTM); 15. Jeremy Garcia (KTM).

250SX: 1. Cole Seely (Hon); 2. Jason Anderson (KTM); 3. Cooper Webb (Yam); 4. Malcolm Stewart (Hon); 5. Justin Hill (Kaw); 6. Shane McElrath (Hon); 7. Dean Wilson (Kaw); 8. Zach Osborne (Hon); 9. Michael Leib (Hon); 10. Jessy Nelson (Hon).

450SX: 1. Chad Reed (Kaw); 2. James Stewart (Suz); 3. Ken Roczen (KTM); 4. Justin Brayton (Yam); 5. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw); 6. Ryan Dungey (KTM); 7. Weston Peick (Suz); 8. Josh Hill (Suz); 9. Andrew Short (KTM); 10. Jake Weimer (Kaw).

Monster Energy Supercross Series Season Points Standings (After round 3 of 17)

250SX: 1. Jason Anderson (72); 2. Cole Seely (69); 3. Zach Osborne (53); 4. Cooper Webb (51); 5. Dean Wilson (50); 6. Malcolm Stewart (47); 7. Justin Hill (44); 8. Jessy Nelson (35); 9. Dean Ferris (31); 10. Shane McElrath (29).

450SX: 1. Ken Roczen (60); 2. Ryan Villopoto (59); 3. (TIE) Chad Reed (57)/ Ryan Dungey (57); 5. Justin Brayton (55); 6. James Stewart (44); 7. Justin Barcia (42); 8. Andrew Short (38); 9. Wil Hahn (30); 10. Broc Tickle (26).

Canyon Lake Dental Care 590

San Diego Chiropractic Story Ad 590


Print Friendly

Category: National, Supercross

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.