Bowers Races to his Third AX Win of the Season in Milwaukee

| 1 February 2014 12:06 pm

AMSOIL Arenacross Series
Round 5, Night 1: U.S. Cellular Arena

Courtesy of Feld Motor Sports
Photo by ShiftOne Photography
MILWAUKEE, WI, JAN. 31, 2014

Tyler Bowers (1) scored his third overall victory at round five of the AMSOIL Arenacross Series.

Tyler Bowers (1) scored his third overall victory at round five of the AMSOIL Arenacross Series.

On Friday evening, AMSOIL Arenacross, featuring Ricky Carmichael’s Road to Supercross, returned to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for the first time in more than a decade to kick off two nights of action inside U.S. Cellular Arena for the fifth round of the 2014 season. Just a few days after revealing he’s been racing with a broken tibia, three-time and reigning Champion Tyler Bowers raced to his championship-leading third overall victory of the season aboard his Babbitt’s Monster Energy/ AMSOIL Kawasaki presented by Maxxis machine. In the Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites class, Frontier Lubricants KTM’s Daniel Blair captured his second main-event win in three races.

Farmers Insurance/ Reynard Mods Suzuki’s Cory Green grabbed the holeshot and early lead in the first Arenacross-class main event of the night and went on to hold off Bowers and his teammate Zach Ames for the first couple of laps of the 12-lap race. However, Bowers’ patience paid off on lap three, when he slipped past Green; from there, he never looked back. While Bowers comfortably paced the field, Ames made the pass for second on lap nine to secure a Babbitt’s one-two finish. Green held on for third.

Bowers had the opportunity to select the inversion for the second main event, picking the number 16 and a full-field inversion for the second time this season.

With Bowers, Ames and Green forced to overcome the final gate selections, Gateway Cycles Kawasaki’s Steven Mages took advantage of having the first gate pick for the second main event to grab the early lead, with KMS KTM’s Dave Ginolfi and Motorsport Hillsboro Kawasaki’s Gared Steinke in tow. Bowers crossed the line in 13th on the opening lap, with Ames just a couple of positions ahead, in 11th.

Bowers immediately began a charge through the field, breaking into the top 10 by lap two and then chipping away for the rest of the main event. The defending champ moved into podium position on lap 10, in third, but he couldn’t overcome the deficit. Mages, who’d finished last in the first main event, rebounded to lead all 15 laps en route to the main-event win. Ginolfi finished in second and Bowers in third.

While he missed out on a clean sweep of the main events, Bowers’ 1-3 finishes were enough to give him the overall win on the evening and move him to within two points of the Arenacross-class points lead. Ames, the championship leader, finished second overall after posting 2-6 results. TUF Honda’s Jeff Gibson (9-4) rounded out the overall podium in third.

In Head-to-Head Bracket Racing, Bowers outdueled Steinke to take the win and earn the second championship bonus point.

Monster Mountain 2013 Story Ad 590 Honda’s Maxx Malatia began the Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites-class main event with the holeshot, with Daniel Blair close behind. Malatia did all he could to keep Blair at bay, but the veteran made his move prior to the conclusion of the opening lap and assumed control of the race.

Shortly thereafter, Mages worked his way past Malatia for second and closed in on the lead at the halfway point, but ultimately he wasn’t able to keep pace with Blair. The California native maintained his lead throughout the 18-lap main event and won comfortably. Mages followed in second, with Malatia in third.

Traders Racing Kawasaki’s Tony Archer, who finished sixth, maintained possession of the Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites-class Championship points lead. He currently holds a 28-point lead over Team DirtBikeMike KTM’s Brandon Glenn.

AMSOIL Arenacross’ return to Milwaukee will continues Saturday with the second night of action from U.S. Cellular Arena. Racing will begin at 7 p.m. CT.

U.S. Cellular Arena
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Results: January 31, 2014 (Round 5, Night 1)

ARENACROSS CLASS MAIN 1: 1. Tyler Bowers (Kaw); 2. Zach Ames (Kaw); 3. Cory Green (Suz); 4. Jacob Hayes (Kaw); 5. Travis Sewell (KTM); 6. Michael McDade (Kaw); 7. Nathan Skaggs (Kaw); 8. Kyle Regal (Hon); 9. Jeff Gibson (Hon); 10. Willy Browning (KTM).

ARENACROSS CLASS MAIN 2: 1. Steven Mages (Kaw); 2. Dave Ginolfi (KTM); 3. Tyler Bowers (Kaw); 4. Jeff Gibson (Hon); 5. Zach Ames (Kaw); 6. Kelly Smith (KTM); 7. Gared Steinke (Kaw); 8. Kyle White (Hon); 9. Kyle Regal (Hon); 10. Jacob Hayes (Kaw).

ARENACROSS CLASS OVERALL: 1. Tyler Bowers (1-3); 2. Zach Ames (2-5); 3. Jeff Gibson (9-4); 4. Jacob Hayes (4-10); 5. Cory Green (3-11); 6. Dave Ginolfi (13-2); 7. Kyle Regal (8-9); 8. Steven Mages (16-1); 9. Travis Sewell (5-13); 10. Kelly Smith (12-6).

ARENACROSS LITES: 1. Daniel Blair (KTM); 2. Steven Mages (Kaw); 3. Maxx Malatia (Hon); 4. Kyle White (Hon); 5. Dave Ginolfi (KTM); 6. Tony Archer (Kaw); 7. Brandon Glenn (KTM); 8. Tanner Moore (KTM); 9. Josh Struebig (KTM); 10. Justin Kelly (Hon).

AMSOIL Arenacross Series Points Standings

ARENACROSS CLASS (After Race 7 of 19): 1. Zach Ames (179); 2. Tyler Bowers (177); 3. Michael McDade (161); 4. Jacob Hayes (159); 5. Willy Browning (131); 6. Cory Green (111); 7. (TIE) Colt Nichols (102)/ Kelly Smith (102); 9. Travis Sewell (100); 10. Kyle Regal (96).

EASTERN REGIONAL ARENACROSS LITES CLASS (After Race 6 of 9): 1. Tony Archer (89); 2. Brandon Glenn (61); 3. Steve Roman (56); 4. Jacob Williamson (55); 5. Michael Lang (41); 6. Scott Zont (36); 7. Keith Tucker (33); 8. Fredrik Noren (28); 9. Chad Wages (24); 10. Dylan Rouse (23).

Print Friendly

Category: Arenacross, National

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.