Villopoto Aiming to Make History as SX Championship Heads to Lucas Oil Stadium

| 25 February 2014 11:04 am

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series
9:Lucas Oil Stadium

Courtesy of Feld Motor Sports
Photos by Simon Cudby and Hoppenworld

Through the first eight Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, races, there have been four two-time race winners, and this Saturday, when the championship heads to Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium, points leader Ryan Villopoto can become the first rider this year to post three victories and the first rider to win five consecutive races at Lucas Oil Stadium.

The 450SX main event gets under way inside the Georgia Dome. Photo by Simon Cudby

The 450SX main event gets under way inside the Georgia Dome. Photo by Simon Cudby

Some points to ponder for this weekend’s contest: The Monster Energy/ Pro Circuit/ Kawasaki has a four-race win streak going (two on the East Coast and two on the West Coast); Ken Roczen can earn his first back-to-back 450SX-class races; with a win by Ryan Dungey this weekend, he can give KTM its first season with two different winners; and how will Dean Wilson do in his first-ever 450SX-class race for Chad Reed’s Discount Tire Racing/ TwoTwo Motorsports team?

Last weekend at Atlanta’s Georgia Dome, Red Bull KTM’s Roczen won his second consecutive 450SX-class race of the season as a rookie, and Monster Energy/ Pro Circuit/ Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos captured the first Eastern Regional 250SX-class win of his career.

Video Interview with Ken Roczen

Smartop/ Motoconcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi earned his first Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award of the season, followed by Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Villopoto in second and Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart, whose lone win in Indianapolis came in 2007, in third.

Stewart quickly moved into first place on the opening lap, while Roczen took over third. Stewart, who came into Atlanta on a two-race win streak, crashed in a turn moments after taking over the lead position and remounted in last place.

Villopoto moved into second place on lap four and then passed Alessi for the lead on lap five. Alessi was also passed by Roczen and Red Bull KTM’s Dungey for the second and third spots, respectively.

On lap 14, Villopoto failed to jump the triple and, as a result, Roczen moved into the lead. Villopoto finished second and Dungey finished third.

“I don’t believe this!” exclaimed Roczen. “Getting on the podium is one thing, but a win is another; [this] is such an awesome feeling. This proves that hard work pays off and helps build my confidence.”

Villopoto has a nine-point lead over Roczen in the season standings. Stewart finished 11th and is third in the season standings.

Through eight races, there have been four different two-time winners, marking the first time this has happened in the sport’s history.

Monster Mountain 2013 Story Ad 590

To open the Eastern Regional 250SX-class main event, Monster Energy Pro Circuit/ Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo, who came into this night’s race as the points leader, led Davalos through turn one, winning the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award. It didn’t take long for Davalos to answer back and make the pass for the lead, and by lap seven he had opened a 5.1-second advantage.

Factory Metal Works’ Vince Friese was passed by Yamalube/ Star Racing/ Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez on the first lap for third place.

Near the halfway point of the race, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle took over the number-three position. Cianciarulo finished second, and Bogle finished a season-best third place.

The Eastern Regional 250SX-class main event winner in Atlanta, Martin Davalos (31). Photo by Hoppenworld

The Eastern Regional 250SX-class main event winner in Atlanta, Martin Davalos (31). Photo by Hoppenworld

“At the beginning of the race, Martin [Davalos] started to pull away, but toward the second half of the race, I was able to catch up,” said Cianciarulo. “Then I made a stupid mistake. I guess you live and learn.”

“I am just so happy to be able to give this win to my team,” said Davalos. “There have been so many people that have supported me, and this feels great.”

Cianciarulo has a two-point lead over Davalos in the season standings.

Last year, in front of a sold-out crowd in Indianapolis, reigning 450SX-class champion Villopoto captured his sixth win of the season, and Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, who is currently injured and will not race this season, took home his second consecutive 250SX-class win.

The first Supercross race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992, and Jeff Stanton won it on a Honda. This will be the 23rd time the gates will drop in Indianapolis and the fifth time that Lucas Oil Stadium has hosted the championship.

Tickets are available at the Lucas Oil Stadium box office and all Ticketmaster outlets, or you can charge by phone at 800/745-3000 or online at or

Practice and qualifying will begin at 12:30 p.m. and the main event will start at 7 p.m. Total Access Passes are $125 per adult or child; Premium Club Seating is $75 per adult or child; Gold Circle seats are $45 per adult or child; Mid-Level seats are $25 per adult or child; and Treadhead seating is $15 per adult or child. Fans can also get into the pits from 12:30 to 6 p.m. with the purchase of a $10 pit pass through the box office or at plus your event ticket.

Fox Sports 1 will air the Indianapolis race live at 7:30 p.m. ET. Live coverage from Indianapolis will also be available on the authenticated Fox Sports Go app. Fox Sports 2 will re-air the Indianapolis race at 2 p.m. ET.

Print Friendly

Category: National, Supercross

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.