Max Ruml Dominates at Santa Maria Finale

| 22 September 2016 2:14 pm

Santa Maria Track Championship
Round 3: Santa Maria Raceway

Story by Steve Evans
Photos by Jon Paquet/
NIPOMO, CA, SEPT. 3, 2016

Max Ruml continued his fantastic run with an emphatic victory to add the 2016 Santa Maria Track Championship to his growing résumé.

Max Ruml was still on a roll at the final round of the Santa Maria Track Championship!

Max Ruml was still on a roll at the final round of the Santa Maria Track Championship!

Though only four riders entered the Division One program, each of them was a potential winner in a wide-open program. Ruml was joined by his brother Dillon, July Ventura winner Eddie Castro, and Gage Geist, who won the top prize at the last Santa Maria event. The riders met six times, with accumulated points determining the winner. To add to the mix, rounds three and five were handicapped, with the top riders in points so far starting off of the 30-yard line, the second off the 20, and so on, with the finale counting as a double-points contest.

Max won round one, ahead of Castro and Dillon.

Dillon took round two, ahead of Castro and Max, putting all three on four points to Geist’s zero so far.

Round three saw the Ruml boys collide in a spot of first-bend bunching. Dillon complained of a sore knee, and with the AMA National finale looming and the 17-year-old younger sibling currently sitting in an impressive third in the standings, he sensibly took the rest of the night off. In the rerun, Max and Castro came from the 20-yard line, with Max securing the win, ahead of Geist.


Round four saw Max Ruml win again, ahead of Castro.

However, a Handicapped round five saw that duo in an epic battle, with Castro attempting to hold off Max until a dramatic pass saw Castro’s last hope at closing the gap disappear.

A win by Max Ruml in the finale gave him 19 out of 21 points, and with five wins, he was the undisputed champion!


Robbie Sauer recovered from a slow start to win his second heat and the Support main, ahead of his fellow Bakersfield, California, resident Rick Pearce, who was racing his first speedway event in 17 years! Hayley Perrault hit the tapes but came through to third in the final.

The other heat wins went to Mike Lane, Kenny Hansen and Perrault. Lane was awarded his win after being caught in the wreckage of a fall by Will McCloskey, but he needed medical attention and withdrew from the rest of the meeting.


The expected Vintage duel between Dan Waller and Malcolm Roe did not disappoint. Roe got the lead in the main event, but Waller found a way by after the two were virtually locked together for almost three laps of intense but fair battle.

Heat wins went to Waller (who garnered two) and Steve Nutter. Roe won the last-chance qualifier.

Michael Wells was top dog among the 250cc Junior ranks.

Michael Wells was top dog among the 250cc Junior ranks.

The 250cc Juniors event saw Michael Wells continue his recent form with a main-event win, as well as winning the first heat race. Kyle Cunningham and debutant Sterling Martin won the other heats.

In 150cc competition, Sterling Martin won both heats, but his brother Alex took the main-event victory.

The Sidecars put on a great show, with nine teams and seven races. Joe Jones & Dave German were the victors with a pass on Robert & Jon Curry to secure the win. Both of those teams won a heat each. James Kinne & Dana Catone won two heats before fading in the main. Bryan Motis & Cody Brant won a heat and the B main.

Joe Jones & Dave German were the winning combination in Sidecar action.

Joe Jones & Dave German were the winning combination in Sidecar action.

Also, 10 flat-track classes ran as part of the show. Mike Rush won the Pro class for the second event in a row.

This evening concluded a three-event 2016 season at Santa Maria. Rider entries increased and all the events drew good crowds. Plans are in place to expand to four events in 2017, including hopefully bringing AMA National Championship Speedway to the long-established Central California motorsports venue. Promoter Mike Kappemeyer and his team are excited about the future of motorcycle races at the 300-yard, FIM-sized track.

Santa Maria Raceway
Nipomo, California
Results: September 3, 2016 (Round 3 of 3)

DIVISION 1: 1. Max Ruml (19); 2. Eddie Castro (13); 3. Gage Geist (6); 4. Dillon Ruml (4).

SUPPORT MAIN: 1. Robbie Sauer; 2. Rick Pearce; 3. Hayley Perrault; 4. Lawrence McNutt; 5. Cameron Beck.

VINTAGE LCQ: 1. Malcolm Roe; 2. Ron Brankov; 3. Bob Waller.

VINTAGE MAIN: 1. Dan Waller; 2. Malcolm Roe; 3. Ron Brankov; 4. Steve Nutter.

250 JR MAIN: 1. Michael Wells; 2. Kyle Cunningham; 3. Alex Martin; 4. Sterling Martin; 5. Dylan Wagner; 6. Sammy Tetrault.

150 MINI MAIN: 1. Alex Martin; 2. Sterling Martin.

SIDECAR CONSI: 1. Bryan Motis/ Cody Brant; 2. Jeff Medberry/ Adrian Vargas; 3. Jeff Medberry/ Niki Davis; 4. Adam Duckett/ Kimberly Bailey; 5. Jeremy Gelein/ Johnny Glover.

SIDECAR MAIN: 1. Joe Jones/ Dave German; 2. Robert Curry/ Jon Curry; 3. Dillon Osborne/ Ashley Gibbons; 4. James Kinne/ Dana Catone.

PRO FLAT TRACK: 1. Mike Rush; 2. Kayl Kolkman; 3. Danielle Caldeira.


Print Friendly

Category: Regional, Speedway, Vintage, Vintage Speedway

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.