U.S. World Trophy Team Named 2016 AMA Motorcyclists of the Year

| 15 December 2016 4:34 pm

AMA American Motorcyclist Association

Courtesy of the American Motorcyclist Association

The American Motorcyclist Association announced today that its 2016 AMA Motorcyclists of the Year are U.S. World Trophy Team members Taylor Robert, Kailub Russell, Thad DuVall and Layne Michael. On October 16, 2016, they accomplished something that no team of American motorcyclists had ever done before: They won the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme’s International Six Days Enduro.

Profiles of Robert, Russell, DuVall and Michael can be found in the January 2017 issue of American Motorcyclist, the official journal of the AMA.

Profiles of Robert, Russell, DuVall and Michael can be found in the January 2017 issue of American Motorcyclist, the official journal of the AMA.

“This shared achievement of Taylor, Kailub, Thad and Layne is historic,” said AMA president and CEO Rob Dingman. “Generations of AMA members have chased the ISDE World Trophy, and these four riders have finally caught it for all of us.”

The AMA Motorcyclist – or, rather, Motorcyclists – of the Year is the individual or group of individuals who have had the largest positive impact on motorcycling in the calendar year. Since 1913, the ISDE has invited the countries of the world to send their best racers. It is a crown that has always eluded American racers – until now.

“This triumph is unprecedented, and it is my honor to recognize these riders as the 2016 AMA Motorcyclists of the Year,” Dingman said.

The 2016 ISDE was held October 11 through 16 in Navarra, Spain. The U.S. World Trophy Team started strong, powering to a 26.02-second gap on the first day. The team added to its lead on the second and third days, slipped a bit on day four, and then held fairly steady on days five and six, finishing three minutes and 38.66 seconds ahead of the second-place Great Britain team.

In addition, Taylor Robert won the individual overall at the event – and that was only the second time in history an American has accomplished that goal.

The U.S. World Trophy riders led a strong U.S. effort that saw the Junior team finish second in its division, the Women’s team come in fourth, club teams finish second and third, and American Fred Hoess win the FIM Vintage Trophy.

“For decades, American teams have struggled to win at the ISDE, but in 2016, all those efforts paid off,” Dingman said. “While Taylor, Kailub, Thad and Layne would surely be the first to give credit to lessons learned in previous years, they are the riders who hoisted the ISDE World Trophy for the first time in history.”


About the American Motorcyclist Association
Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit, member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling-rights and event-sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit Not a member? Join the AMA today at



Print Friendly

Category: Announcements, Enduro, National, Riders, Riders All

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.