Fifteenth Supercross Round This Saturday Night!

| 20 April 2017 10:27 am

AMA Monster Energy Supercross Series
Round 15: Rice-Eccles Stadium

Courtesy of Feld Entertainment

2017 0420 UT SX Rd15 PHOTO A Banner

Rice-Eccles Stadium.

Rice-Eccles Stadium.

This Saturday evening, Monster Energy Supercross will return to scenic Salt Lake City for the first time since the 2013 season. The 2017 race will serve as the championship’s landmark 10th visit to Utah’s capital city; it’s the first time that the race will not be the penultimate round.

At 4, 637 feet, the Salt Lake City Supercross takes place at the highest elevation of any stop in the championship, sitting in the shadow of the Wasatch Range of the Rocky Mountains. It is 3,037 feet higher than the next-closest host city, Las Vegas.

With its incredible skiing, hiking, and breathtaking scenery, the Utah Sports Commission dubbed Utah “The State of Sport,” and Monster Energy Supercross plays a pivotal role in strengthening that distinction.

Rice-Eccles Stadium cemented its legacy by serving as the host venue of the XIX Olympic Winter Games, held in Salt Lake City in 2002. The venue has hosted every Supercross event in Salt Lake City, from 2001 to 2004 and from 2009 to 2013.

2017 Evans Story Ad 590 0001

Ricky Carmichael.

Ricky Carmichael.

450SX Class
The first 450SX-class race held in Salt Lake City was on April 28, 2001. Ricky Carmichael won it riding a Kawasaki. It was the first race after Carmichael clinched his inaugural 450SX-class title.

Five riders have traded wins in the nine 450SX-class races held in Salt Lake City to date. Only Ryan Dungey and Chad Reed have failed to record multiple Salt Lake City victories.

Ryan Villopoto is the winningest rider in Salt Lake City history, having claimed three victories over the course of five seasons; he won every other year.

2017 Industry Racing 590 0001

Ernesto Fonseca.

Ernesto Fonseca.

250SX Class
The first 250SX-class race held in Salt Lake City was on April 28, 2001. Yamaha-mounted Ernesto Fonseca earned the victory to end his championship-winning campaign – and his 250SX-class career – on high note.

Jason Anderson earned his first career win at the championship’s most recent visit in 2013, making him the only first-time winner in Salt Lake City history. It was also Suzuki’s most recent victory in the division.

The Salt Lake City winner has gone on to win the title in five of nine seasons, but only twice during the most recent five-year stretch in the state – in the final two seasons from 2009 to 2013.


Classic Cycle Events 2017 Story Ad Hanford 590x270 0001

The 15th round of the Monster Energy Supercross Series will take place this Saturday night, April 22, at Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City, Utah.

For more information on Monster Energy AMA Supercross, please log on to, the official website of Monster Energy Supercross.

Print Friendly

Category: Announcements, National, Supercross

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.