AMA Crowns National Champions at 2017 AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship

| 6 July 2017 2:15 pm

AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship
DuQuoin State Fairgrounds

Courtesy of the American Motorcyclist Association
Photo by Joshua Rudd
DuQUOIN, IL, JULY 4, 2017

AMA National number-one plates were awarded on July 4 at the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship at DuQuoin State Fairgrounds in Illinois to 12 riders who earned AMA National Champion status.

Twelve Amateur and Youth racers in 20 classes were recognized as AMA National Champions.

Twelve Amateur and Youth racers in 20 classes were recognized as AMA National Champions.

Some racers earned National Championships in more than one class.

Youth and Amateur racers competed in a variety of classes in Half Mile, Youth TT, Amateur TT and Indoor Short Track events.

“As always, the talent at the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship is top notch,” said AMA track racing manager Ken Saillant. “Congratulations to the 12 racers who battled their way to the front and were able to take home the honor of being an AMA National Champion.”

Hunter Brooks of Escalon, California, was the recipient of the Nicky Hayden AMA Dirt Track Horizon Award, which recognizes the rider best prepared for the professional ranks, based on their attitude, enthusiasm, and past performances as an Amateur. The award was recently renamed in honor of 2002 AMA Superbike Champion and 2006 FIM MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden, who passed away in May. Hayden was the inaugural winner of the AMA Horizon Award in 1997.

Trevor Tidwell of Washington, Illinois, received the 2017 Dirt Track Grand Championship Fast Brain Award for his hard work on the racetrack and in the classroom.

The Veteran Senior Racer of the Year is Dallas Mayer of Carbondale, Illinois.

Tyler Scott of Emmaus Pennsylvania, is the Youth Racer of the Year. He won three AMA National Championships in 2017.

For more information on the AMA Dirt Track National Championship, visit

The AMA would like to congratulate the following AMA National Champions…

50 DTX SR (7-8): Bradon Pfanders.

50 DTX PEE WEE SHAFT: Brody Hanson.

50 DTX PEE WEE (4-8): Elijah Banish.

65 DTX (7-11): Chase Anderson.

65 MODIFIED (7-11): Tyler Scott.

85 DTX (7-11): Tyler Scott.

85 DTX (12-15): Kody Kopp.

85 MODIFIED (7-11): Tyler Scott.

85 MODIFIED (12-15): Kody Kopp.

250 DTX: Travis Petton IV.

250 MODIFIED: Grant Holmes.

201-250: Grant Holmes.

251-500 DTX: Hunter Brooks.

450 MODIFIED: Dallas M. Daniels.

450 OPEN SINGLES: Dallas M. Daniels.

450 OPEN MODIFIED (SINGLE and TWIN): Dallas M. Daniels.

WOMEN (12+): Sara Saathoff.

VET 30+: Michael Mayer.

SR 40+: Dallas Mayer.

SUPER SR 50+: Dallas Mayer.

About the American Motorcyclist Association
Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit, member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling-rights and event-sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit Not a member? Join the AMA today at

Print Friendly

Category: Announcements, Dirt Track, National, Short Track, TT

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.