AMA National Enduro Series Crowns National Champions

| 18 November 2017 10:33 am

AMA Kenda National Enduro Championship Series

Courtesy of the American Motorcyclist Association
Photo by Shan Moore
STANTON, AL, NOV. 5, 2017

After the final round of the AMA Kenda National Enduro Championship Series, presented by Moose Racing on November 5 in Stanton, Alabama, 28 AMA National number-one plates were awarded, with the top finisher in each class being recognized as an AMA National Champion for accumulating the most points throughout the nine-round series.

The 2017 AMA National Enduro Overall Series Champion, Steward Baylor.

The 2017 AMA National Enduro Overall Series Champion, Steward Baylor.

“The AMA National Enduro Championship Series was exciting all year long, with emerging new talent and breakout performances in almost every class,” said AMA off-road racing manager Erek Kudla. “Each AMA National number-one plate awarded was well deserved and required months of hard work and dedication. Congratulations to the 28 newly crowned AMA National Champions and the many competitors who participated in the series during 2017.”

For the second time in his racing career, Steward Baylor of Hodges, South Carolina, was the overall winner of the AMA National Enduro Championship Series. He secured the win after the championship came down to the last test at the final round of racing, and he was rewarded with an AMA National Championship for the victory. Baylor also won the overall championship in 2011.

“Coming into the last round with just two points separating me and Thad [Duvall], I knew I had my work cut out for me,” Baylor said. “The first thing I did when I won, though, was go straight to Thad and congratulate him. The National Enduro Series is a hard one to figure out, so winning this championship means a lot to me, because of the injuries I’ve faced. It’s made me have a different respect for the championship than I did when I was 17.”

For more information on the AMA National Enduro Championship Series, visit

The following class winners were awarded AMA National Championships…

OVERALL: Steward Baylor.

EX AA: Thorn Devlin.

A 200: Johnny Manera.

A 250: James King.

A OPEN: Sam Mattingly.

A 30+: J.D. Friebel.

A 40+: Steve Leivan.

A 45+: Jeff Staples.

A 50+: Mike Grizzle.

A 55+: Greg Roberts.

B 200: Trale Henderson.

B 250: Jacob Beck.

B OPEN: Geof Warren.

B 30+: Eric Siegenthaler.

B 40+: Brian Massengil.

B 45+: Brian Stover.

B 50+: Travis Stauble.

B 55+: Ernie Ashley.

C 200: Slate Green.

C 250: Nolan Hindman.

C OPEN: Ronald Smith.

C 30+: Donald Smith.

C 40+: Jason James.

C 50+: Lee Blesch.

WOMEN ELITE: Tayla Jones.

WOMEN C: Allie Doland.

60+: Gordon Stout.

66+: Fred Cameron.

About the American Motorcyclist AssociationAMA Logo 200 0001
Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit, member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling-rights and event-sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit Not a member? Join the AMA today at

Print Friendly

Category: Announcements, Enduro, National

Comments are closed.

K&N Motorcycle and ATV Replacement Oil Filters
Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.